Thursday 13: The Eagle and the Hawk

I think I’ve mentioned before how much I love John Denver and how I wish I’d seen him in concert.  Here’s the lyrics for one of his short songs:

  1. The Eagle and the Hawk
  2. I am the eagle, I live in high country
  3. In rocky cathedrals that reach to the sky
  4. I am the hawk and there’s blood on my feathers
  5. But time is still turning they soon will be dry
  6. And all of those who see me,
  7. all who believe in me
  8. Share in the freedom I feel when I fly
  9. Come dance with the west wind
  10. and touch on the mountain tops
  11. Sail o’er the canyons and up to the stars
  12. And reach for the heavens and hope for the future
  13. And all that we can be and not what we are

Thursday 13

5 Responses

  1. A blast from the past! I liked John Denver and this was one of my favorite songs. Thanks for sharing.

  2. He had a lovely voice 🙂

  3. Yeah, the words to his songs are often the best part.

  4. Lovely lyrics.

  5. Great lyrics, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

