Thursday 13: Blues Brother’s quotes

Here are my favorite quotes from the movie The Blues Brothers.

  1. “We’re on a mission from God”
  2. “So for me, for my mother, my grandmother, my father, my uncle, and for the common good, I must now kill you, and your brother.”
  3. “Our Lady of Blessed Acceleration, don’t fail us now.”
  4. “I hate Illinois Nazi’s”
  5. “It’s 106 miles to Chicago.  We got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it’s dark out and we’re wearing sunglasses.”
  6. “SCMODS?”  “State, County, Municipal Offender Database.”
  7. “I want to buy your women… the little girl… your daughters. Sell them to me. Sell me your children.”
  8. “You can’t lie to a nun. We got to go in and visit the penguin”
  9. “Well thank you, pal. The day I get outta prison, my own brother picks me up in a *police* car!”
  10. “Don’t you blaspheme in here! Don’t you blaspheme in here!”
  11. “Use of unnecessary violence in the apprehension of the Blues Brothers HAS been approved.”
  12. “First you traded the Cadillac in for a microphone. Then you lied to me about the band. And now you’re gonna put me right back in the joint!”
  13. “We got both kinds. We got country *and* western”

It’s so hard to pick only 13.  🙂

Thursday 13

7 Responses

  1. How about – “we’re putting the band back together” or “that ain’t a Hank Williams song!” Such a classic flick.

    • I know!!!!

      Too many lines to choose from. My personal favorite: “It’s that shitbox dodge.”

      or “Mrs. Murphy: We got two honkies out there, dressed like Hasidic diamond merchants.
      Matt Murphy: Say what?
      Mrs. Murphy: They look like they’re from the CIA, or somethin’.
      Matt Murphy: What they want to eat?
      Mrs. Murphy: The tall one wants white toast, dry, with nothin’ on it.
      Matt Murphy: Elwood.
      Mrs. Murphy: And the short one wants four whole fried chickens, and a Coke.
      Matt Murphy: And Jake. Shit, the Blues Brothers.”

  2. I have never actually seen the movie all the way from beginning to end. I’ve seen bits and pieces of it on TV a number of times, but that’s all.

  3. I love the blues brothers!

  4. LOL! I haven’t seen it in such a long time, but I loved this movie 🙂

Leave a Reply

