Sentimental Sunday (9)

After taking a week off, I think I have something for you.

Little Man is in Kindergarten now.  It’s so fun to hear him learn and sing songs and rhymes that I’d forgotten all about.  Such as:

  • Miss Mary Mack…
  • Teddy Bear, teddy bear turn around…
  • Down at the station early in the morning…
  • Round and round the garden, like a teddy bear.  One step, two step, tickle under there!
  • Criss-cross applesauce…
  • Wash the dishes, dry the dishes…

Just to name a few.  I’m sure there are other’s, but those are the ones that I can think of.

7 Responses

  1. Randomeability, you are always welcome to comment on any part of my blog, whether you have a PhotoHunt or not. When you do, so long as you remember to include your link in the comment form, I will always come to visit.

  2. Yes, these are memories – especially the Teddy Bear, Turn Around rhyme. I had forgotten that one.

    My son used to shout “Head, Shoulders, Peas and Toast,” instead of “Knees and Toes.”

  3. I understand the ‘criss cross’ part – but where does the applesauce com from?

  4. Lou, It’s a rhyme where one person sits in front with the back towards you. The actions

    Criss Cross Make an “X” on the back
    Applesauce runs your fingers down the back, like applesauce running down your back
    spiders crawling up your back Crawl your fingers up the back, like “spiders crawling you your back”
    tight squeeze squeeze the shoulders
    cool breeze blow on neck
    Now you’ve got the chills. kind of grab at the waist to scare the other person

    When the teachers say “Criss cross applesauce”, they want the kids to sit cross legged.

  5. I always wondered where the applesauce came from? The way my son would squirm against the floor, I thought maybe he was trying to crush apples. 🙂

  6. I always wondered where the applesauce came from, too. The way my son would squirm against the floor, I thought maybe he was trying to crush apples. 🙂

  7. Sigh I miss the kindergarten days, they grow up so fast. Treasure this time, it will be gone before you know it.

Leave a Reply

