Sentimental Sunday’s

Well, I think I have a new theme for Sunday’s.  Sentimental Sunday.  I write a bit about my childhood and you get to know a little bit more about me.  Anyone want to join me?

We had a creek that went along the back property line of our old house.  We moved in 1986 or 1987 to the house that my parents currently live in.  Anyway, we had a creek run along the back property line of our house.  The hospital and nursing home was on the other side.  The bank on our side is the lower side and flooded frequently.

We would play in the creek for hours upon hours.  Walking in it during the hot days on summer or trying to catch minnows.  Jumping across it other days.  Following the creek behind the other houses would be the short cut to school.  There was a little bridge (probably not much more than a railroad tie) behind another neighbors house.  Since we knew all the neighbors, it wasn’t a big deal to be walking in the backyards.

One of my friends lived near the end, where the water went under the ground, so we played at that point most of the time.  We would collect the river rocks but we never went in the tunnels.  I’m pretty sure we played barefoot when we were in the creek.  Because we were constantly barefoot, our feet were pretty tough.  I was always stepping on the pricky’s in our yard. 

Okay.  I’ve rambled on long enough.  Thanks for reading

6 Responses

  1. Childhood memories are always the best memories – summers were warmer and friends truer and days longer and nights darker. Oh, to be a child again.

  2. Fantastic idea here – I might give it a try, although i tend to make myself weepy. Funny how I already wrote a sentimental post this sunday!

  3. Good memories! It seems like our place is set up to provide many of the same for my two boys. I’ve had to make them wear sandals or flip-flops in the creek though…lots of glass in there. I pick up what I find, but there is a lot.

    Broken glass is not good for barefeet. ~R

  4. My feet were really tough as a child as well. I used to be able to walk down a gravel road barefoot.

  5. Great idea! I’ve got fond memories of playing in a creek as a child, too, but in my grandmother’s backyard. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. 🙂

  6. fighting: We lived on an oil & chip road and we’d walk down that barefoot in the summer. we’d also pop the tar bubbles!

    Jenn: I hope you can join me!

Leave a Reply

