The grocery store

This post brought back some memories…

Growing up in a small town, the “major” employers for teens were either one of the two grocery stores, DQ, Hardees or Monicals.  I worked at the grocery store.  I’m not sure if this had any bearing on me being hired, but we were family friends with the owner.  🙂

I was a cashier, hired the summer I turned 15.  I wanted to earn money to go to England.

I started as a part-time cashier.  Since I was in the marching band, I had Friday nights off when they played at home.  We had charge accounts for the Flippo’s (the local pizza place) and Tuesday nights, someone stood up on the counter to change out the ad merchandise.  We had two full time meat cutters, a bakery and deli and on the side, the store did some catering.

I started out as a cashier.  During my senior year in High school and breaks, I’d work Sunday night helping unload the truck.  Later I also worked nights in the bakery/deli, after I turned 18.  My friends always managed to “decorate” my car when I was working, but payback was a bitch.

There’s so much more, but I’ve been sitting on this for a while now.  Maybe there will be a part 2.  Who knows.

2 Responses

  1. This is pretty random! I thought you were going to go somewhere and write a story about “on Tuesday nights, someone stood up on the counter to change out the ad merchandise.” But, alas, no.

    Sorry to disappoint… ~R

  2. Hey now, you know I love you. I just want to know more about standing on the counter. We need pictures!

    I have pictures from HS, but none of me standing on the counter changing out the ad. ~R

Leave a Reply

