Cooking with the toaster oven…

After all the years that I’ve had a toaster oven, you’d have thought that I’d discover the secret a little bit earlier. 

We mostly cook biscuits, pizza and banana bread in our toaster oven and for the most part, the tops get burned and the middle is not cooked all the way through.  Finally I realized, oh.  Set the temperature 25 degrees lower and cook a few minutes longer.  DUH!! 

Anyway.  Here’s my recipe for Banana Bread.  As taken from The Joy of Cooking

MIX

  • 1/3 cup shortening do NOT use Crisco.  I use vegetable oil
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2-3 smashed banana’s
  • 1 or 2 eggs I usually start with just one and after I add the next part, I might add another.

In a separate bowl:

  •  3/4 cups flour
  • 2 1/4 teaspoon double acting baking powder
  • pinch or so of salt

Add the flour mixture to the sugar mixture until smooth.  this is where I might add egg #2.  Fold in 1/2 cup broken nuts.

Batter in greased bread pan.  Cook at 350 for 45 minutes to an hour (until toothpick comes out clean)  Cool before slicing.

There you have it.  We make it without nuts

4 Responses

  1. It does that (burned tops) even with a full preheat? That’s crazy! We got rid of ours to reclaim counter space and only miss it once in a while when it’s time to reheat 2 rolls and we have to use our big oven for such a small job.

  2. We are cursed. We have gone through at least 4 toaster ovens. The last one caught fire. This most recent one has a problem with the door hinge and won’t shut all the way!

    My kids love banana bread, but they insist that I do it with a chocolate swirl in it! I must admit, I love it that way too.

  3. I never thought of baking bread in the toaster oven. I’ll have to try that – we usually just use ours to reheat things or to toast bread.

    YUM I love banana bread. It’s actually on my list of things to do today, I’m going to make some of that and some zucchini bread, too.

  4. We have a toaster oven and I NEVER remember to use it except for garlic bread.

    Great recipe!!! Easy too.

Leave a Reply

