Sleep…

The other night I woke up to a thunderstorm.  No biggie.  I love Thunderstorms.  We ended up getting 1 1/2 inches of rain.  We checked on the kids (they slept through the whole thing), went potty and laid back down to go back to sleep.  Uh Houston, That’s where we have a problem.  I couldn’t get back to sleep.  I even tried my old stand-bys.  They both involved counting of sorts, but not sheep.

The first one:  I look at the clock and try to count as high as I can.  I add, subtract, multiply or divide using the numbers on the clock only once.  EX:  12:38

  • 1 = 1
  • 2 = 2
  • 3 = 3
  • 4 = 1+3
  • 5 = 8-3
  • 6 = 8-2
  • 7 = 8-1
  • 8 = 8
  • 9 = 8+1
  • 10 = 8+2
  • 11 = 8+3
  • 12 = 12
  • 13 = 8+2+3
  • 14 = 8-1=7*2
  • 15 = 8*2=16-1
  • 16 = 8*2
  • 17 = 8*2=16+1
  • 18 = 8+1=9*2
  • 19 = 8*2=16+3
  • 20 = 8*2=16+3+1
  • 21 = 8-1=7*3
  • 22 = 8*3=24-2
  • 23 = 8*3=24-1
  • 24 = 8*3
  • 25 = 8*3=24+1
  • 26 = 8*3=24+2
  • 27 = 8+1=9*3
  • 28 =

So when the minutes change, you have to start all over again…  from 1.  Of course some times are easier than others.  I don’t try to do it within the first 10 minutes of the hour, it never works!  LOL

The other thing I do also involves the clock.  I watch for the minutes to change.  Then I count to 60 and hopefully When I get to 60, the minute changes again.  Not before (Which is what usually happens) not after.  Usually each minute it feels like I’m counting faster and faster, but I really am counting slower and slower, so I my eyes get heavy real fast and before I know it, I’m asleep.

What are your falling asleep tricks?

5 Responses

  1. yeah, my game is to count backwards from 60 and see how close I am. or if there’s a secondhand, I count with it.

    I like that other game, though. Might have to try it on one of my insominatic nights!

    Oh, and thanks for that other blog. It looks really awesome. I’ve already bloglined it and put him on my blogroll!

  2. I don’t have any tricks for getting back to sleep. I’m miserable when I get woken up.

  3. Holy frijoles, Random! You really do that while trying to fall asleep? Geez… that’s what I would do if I was itching for a migraine ha ha ha.

    I don’t have any secrets for falling back to sleep. I, like FW, suck at falling back to sleep and the more I think about it, the worse it gets. The best I can do is try to keep my brain from thinking. Even if I try counting, my mind starts to wander. I think I have nighttime ADD

    Yeah, but when I was typing this I had the benefit of not having a minute to do it in. I probably would have gotten to the lower 20 somethings. 🙂 ~R

  4. I like NPR to listen to. It works.!

  5. WIth everything I have going on right now I have reached for Ambian. I think that may be spelled wrong. Anyway, it has helped me two nights now. But, after weekssssssss of no sleep I really needed it!!

    Hugs to ya, D. ~R

Leave a Reply

