L is for…

Library.

We have a whole library of kids books.  I can deal with the books all over the place.  The books get read. 

The books on the top shelf, the fireplace and the Dr. Suess books on the floor there were gifts from parents or that we had bought.  The books on the bottom shelf were passed on to us by co-workers.  We also have a handful of bedtime books upstairs and a boxful of books that used to be mine.  At one time, his two favorite books that used to be mine were The Monster at the End of the Book and Oscar’s Book

Little man’s school is participating in Pizza Hut Book it.  They want us to read for 20 minutes a day M-F.  I think for March, we ended up reading 795 minutes, or something pretty close to that.  There are days that we don’t read at all, but we’ll make up for it on another night.  We’ve had a couple 60+ minute reading marathons.  I do love reading and hope that both kids are readers too.

Growing up, I spent alot of time at the library.  I remember riding my bike there and checking out books by the armful.  My favorites were Beverly Cleary’s books: Socks; A Mouse and a Motorcycle; Runaway Ralph; and the Sweet Valley High Series.  As far as quirky books, Lizard Music was a favorite.  I’d like to read all the books in the Chronicles of Narnia again or the Laura Ingalls Wilder books.  I didn’t quite make it through all the books.  Maybe once the kids are older, I’ll get to read those books for me again. 

I have a library card, but I haven’t checked out any books yet.  I’d like to start taking the kids to the library, but that’s only happened once.  We’ll see.

5 Responses

  1. Ahh… so many books, so little time… cheers! 🙂

  2. I loved the Sweet Valley High series too and was a huge Nancy Drew fan (and the Hardy Boys…hehe). I didn’t take the kids to the library much when they were younger – it is easier now that they can sit still and BE QUIET!

    Ohhh… I forgot about Nancy Drew. I read a few and have a few Nancy Drew books too. I never did read them like the Sweet Valley High Series. ~R

  3. I loved Beverly Cleary. And Laura Ingalls Wilder. I want to read those to my son when he’s a bit older.

  4. I remember a book my fifth grade teacher read to us it was called the Yearling, I loved that book. My fifth grade teacher inspired me to become a reader. I never really liked it until she opened my eyes to the different books and encouraged me to read. She would give me special treats for each novel I read.

    I am working on instilling this joy of reading with my daughter. We loved Beverly Cleary. Right now she likes to read books on fairies. When she was little we used to read Green Eggs and Ham backwards, it was pretty funny.

    I hope that both my kids will be readers too. Hubby isn’t, but I am. ~R

  5. I remember Book It! I was into The Baby-Sitters Club series. I liked Beverly Cleary (Loved the Ramona books) and I liked Judy Blume. Oh the memories! I used to want to have a huge library in my home. Maybe one day I can still accomplish that. 🙂

    I still have my book it certificate in my scrapbook. I wonder if they’d redeem it…. ~R

Leave a Reply

