C is for (an addendum)

I know I already posted the letter C, but there were a few things that I wanted to mention that I didn’t.

There are some quirks about me and the Catholicness of attending mass.  I will NOT walk in front of the church/pews while mass is going on.  If I am in the front middle and need to go out the sid door, I feel weird about walking in front.  If the pew is full, I will go down the aisle and back up the side instead of simple walking up front.  I feel a little weird walking in front even when church is over.

In my hometown church, I always sat on the right side of the church (as you were looking at the altar).  In our new church, we sit on the right side.  Maybe it has to do with heading to the right for communion. 

One of the preists we had had an informal rule about not wearing shorts to mass in the summer, it’s not a tennis match he said.  I know that God doesn’t care what we wear to mass, but there is a certain level of decorum.  One Sunday, a girl was wearing windpants and slippers.  I personally don’t wear shorts to mass and my husband will.  He wears the docker shorts, not blue jean shorts.

Anyway, enough about that.  We’ll get back on the letter track tomorrow with F.

3 Responses

  1. Windpants? Oh man, I can just hear her swishing up to receive communion while the congregation is silent. Swish swish swish swish.

    Silence in Catholic churh? hahahahahahahaha!! During communion we are singing! No swishing of windpants. ~Accountable

  2. About the walking up front thing…..I never knew if I had to genuflect every time I went by the front alter or not, so you can imagine me up front – up, down, up, down, up, down.

    Smart idea sticking to the side.

  3. Come to think of it, I always sat on the right side too when I was “caterlic” as my child used to call it. Hmm….

    We used to sit on the right side, so that we would head to the left for communion, going up the middle aisle and back down the side. Now we sit on the left side and still head to the right side for communion. There are four sections, so we come back down the middle. ~Accountable

Leave a Reply

