E is for…

Eclair.  Mock Eclair.

My Grandmother makes this yummy dessert called Mock Eclair.  She makes it in a pan that has the handle on the lid.  One night, I was asked to fetch the dessert from the basement and I grabbed it by the handle.  It dumped all over the place.  This had to have been at LEAST 20 years ago.  My family still won’t let me forget it.

mock-eclair.jpg  I made this for Easter and I actually used a little bit too much milk when I made the topping.  It still is yummy. 

Here’s the receipe:

  • (2) packages of Instant Vanilla Pudding
  • (1) 8 oz container of whipped topping
  • 3 cups of milk
  • (1) box of Graham crackers

Make the pudding using all of the milk.  When it begins to thinken, fold in the whipped topping.  Cover the bottom layer of a 9×13 pan with graham crackers.  Pour half of the pudding mixture over the graham crackers.  Add another layer of graham crackers the rest of the pudding mixture and top with graham crackers.  (Think like Lasagna)

Topping:  (you can use the canned stuff, but it doesn’t work as well)

  • 2 ozs of bitter baking chocolate
  • 3 Tbls margarine/butter
  • 2 tsp light karo syrup
  • 3 Tbls milk
  • 1 tsp cold coffe
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Melt the bitter baking chocolate and mix in the rest of the ingrediants.  refrigerate overnight and it should be made at least one day ahead.

5 Responses

  1. This sounds yummy!

    May I add you to my Blogroll?

    Sure!! Thanks for stopping by. ~Accountable

  2. That looks scrumptious. Jedd’s mom makes a good eclair cake kinda like this.

  3. I don’t think I’ve ever had eclair cake!

  4. Oh my that looks good! I think I’ll have to try that soon.

  5. That looks really good!

Leave a Reply

