C is for…

Catholic & Chrsitening Gown

I was born and raised Catholic.  The gown that I was baptized in was made by my Great-Granny.  My Granddad was baptized in it as well as most of my cousins and the generation afterward.  I believe that the gown was made in 1914.

full-gown.jpg  gown-top.jpg  slip.jpg  The 1st photo is the full length gown, the 2nd is an upclose of the top and the detail, the 3rd is of the slip.  It is a gorgeous gown and it is a blessing that so many of us were able to use it.

For a few years after we moved, we continued to drive to my hometown for Sunday mass (about a 50 minute drive).  My husband went through RCIA to become Catholic.  I was a Eucharistic Minister and he was an usher.  I continued to be a Eucharistic Minister through my first pregnancy.  For a little while after Little Man was born, we continued the drive.  Winter came and we decided to choose a church where we are.

5 Responses

  1. Awesome heirloom!!!

  2. That is so cool! The gown is beautiful and it is wonderful that it has survived so many generations!

  3. That gown is so special. Our family has a Christening gown that is over 100 years old and had been used with all the new babies. Up until mine was born. By the time he was 3 weeks old, he was twice the size of any baby that gown would fit!!! So we couldn’t use it.

  4. It is gorgeous! Thanks for sharing those photos.

  5. WOW! Those are amazing.

    We have a little “white tuxedo” we had our little boy baptized in when he was 5 mos old (we had to wait until after Lent).

Leave a Reply

