When I was growing up…

 I should have done this before.  I personally didn’t write it… It was an email forward that my sister sent me. 

If you are 30 or older, you will think this is hilarious!!!! When I was a kid, adults used to bore me to tears with their tedious diatribes about how hard things were when they were growing up; what, with walking twenty-five miles to school every morning uphill BOTH ways yadda, yadda, yadda!

And I remember promising myself that when I grew up, there was no way in hell I was going to lay a bunch of crap like that on kids about how hard I had it and how easy they’ve got it!

But now that… I’m over the ripe old age of thirty, I can’t help but look around and notice the youth of today. You’ve got it so easy! I mean, compared to my childhood, you live in a darn Utopia!

And I hate to say it but you kids today you don’t know how good you’ve got it!

I mean, when I was a kid we didn’t have The Internet. If we wanted to know something, we had to go to the library and look it up ourselves, in the card catalog!!

There was no email! We had to actually write somebody a letter…with a pen! Then you had to walk all the way across the street and put it in the mailbox and it would take like a week to get there!

There were no MP3’s or Napsters! You wanted to steal music, you had to hitchhike to the record store and shoplift it yourself! Or you had to wait around all day to tape it off the radio.

We didn’t have fancy crap like Call Waiting! If you were on the phone and somebody else called they got a busy signal, that’s it! And we didn’t have fancy Caller ID Boxes either! When the phone rang, you had no idea who it was! It could be your school, your mom, your boss, your bookie, your drug dealer, a collections agent, you just didn’t know!!! You had to pick it up and take your chances mister!

We didn’t have any fancy Sony Playstation video games with high-resolution 3-D graphics! We had the Atari 2600! With games like ‘Space Invaders’ and ‘asteroids’ and the graphics sucked! Your guy was a little square! You actually had to use your imagination! And there were no multiple levels or screens, it was just one screen forever! And you could never win. The game just kept getting harder and harder and faster and faster until you died! Just like LIFE!

When you went to the movie theater there was no such thing as stadium seating! All the seats were the same height! If a tall guy or some old broad with a hat sat in front of you and you couldn’t see, you were just screwed!

Sure, we had cable television, but back then that was only like 15 channels and there was no onscreen menu and no remote control! You had to use a little book called a TV Guide to find out what was on! You were screwed when it came to channel surfing! You had to get off your rear and walk over to the TV to change the channel and there was no Cartoon Network either! You could only get cartoons on Saturday morning. Do you hear what I’m saying!?! We had to wait ALL WEEK for cartoons, you spoiled little brats!

And we didn’t have microwaves, if we wanted to heat something up we had to use the stove or go build a fire … imagine that! If we wanted popcorn, we had to use that stupid Jiffy Pop thing and shake it over the stove forever like an idiot.
That’s exactly what I’m talking about! You kids today have got
it too easy. You’re spoiled!!!!!!!!!
You guys wouldn’t have lasted five minutes back in 1980!
Oh yea, and a seatbelt was Mom throwing her arm across your chest every time she hit the brakes.

17 Responses

  1. Bwaahaahahahh have you been listening in at my house lately?

    Except we didn’t have cable here when I was growing up. CBS, NBC, ABC & PBS was IT!

    We didn’t have the Atari. We had something called Magnavox Odyssey 2 It was okay. ~Accountable

  2. Your post made me laugh. Yup, you got it right. Answering the phone was ALWAYS an adventure. 😀

    I spent A LOT of time on the phone attached to the wall! ~Accountable

  3. Whoa, what’s up with the fonts? They’re all funky.

    I’m 28, but I still think it’s funny! We only had PBS in black and white until I was a teenager. 😀

    At my friend’s house they had betamax cassettes. Remember that format war?

    I’m trying to fix it, but I think I made it worse! There’s a new format war going on… Blu-Ray and High-Def. ~Accountable

  4. What is up with that middle section. It sounds like a sentence was accidentally moved out.

    And, yes, the phone was the best part! Not only did you NOT know who was calling, but you also wondered if “that boy” called while you were outside for 5 minutes and probably missed the only time he would ever call…

    I was trying to fix the font thing, but I made it worse. I’ll have to try again. ~Accountable

  5. LOL!!!!! Too funny! 🙂

  6. This is great! I don’t know how we survived without the internet and cell phones! LOL We had the Atari 2600. My parents hooked it up to an old B&W TV set. My brother and I played Combat for hours. We graduated through all the video game systems. Atari, Nintendo, Sega Genesis, Playstation, etc. I remember my cousins having a Colecovision game system.
    And I love that you mentioned Jiffy Pop! I loved that stuff. Thanks for the memories! 😀

  7. No doubt! And to think that 5 year olds have access to all of this too! At school there are quite a few elementary kids that also already have cell phones! How crazy is that? Aaahhhhh to be back in the 80’s! I would do it! But I would not do high school again-yuck!

    My 4 1/2 year old is doing a good job with the computer and mouse. He doesn’t have a cell phone, no need yet. I’m not sure when or even if he will get one. When my cell phone rings, I don’t always jump to answer it if I’m in the middle of something and I let it go to voice mail. My phone is for MY convenience and no one elses. If I don’t feel like talking, I don’t answer, even if it is my Mom. ~Accountable

  8. YEAH!! I Fixed it!!

  9. I’m a little older than you – but I well understand where you’re at with this. It’s just that I’ve seen 3 or 4 generations of this stuff. When I was a kid, grownups told us we had it so good because THEY lived through the DEPRESSION. The word ‘depression’ was always said in BIG LETTERS. And we had a round-screen TV with a 6″ screen. ” means INCH. Then we got a Muntz 21 inch TV in a big floor console, and you actually had to TUNE IN the station – the channel selector did NOT click. And we had rotary dial phones. That was right after we got off the party line phone. We had our own ring. 2 short and 1 long. That’s how we knew that call was for us. And games were chess, checkers and tic, tac, toe. No such thing as air conditioning in the home. If you wanted air conditioning, you went to the show. Ah, yes. The primitive good old days.

  10. I don’t know. I don’t think I’d want to be a kid today. I think a lot of the technology eliminates imgination. I thnk I’m happy that I grew up when I did. 🙂

  11. Whew! loved this, I am just blown away how things have moved so quickly.

    I am with LouCeel up there. I remember when my grandparents purchased a Television set and the whole block came over to see all the snow on it. 🙂 Going to the record store and splitting money to buy an 89 cent 45. We would trade out for a week or so.

    Used to actually play outside too and roam all over without our parents being afraid we would be kidnapped or worse.

    Had 3 numbers to remember for the home phone rotary dial. I still remember that number *869* Wow. spent a lot of time talking to friends I had just left.

    Yep had to actually get off that couch and change the station to one of the 3 channels. Had no idea who was on the phone, back then just loved for the phone to ring. My how times have changed.

    Thanks for the memories.. I got a lot of catching up to do girlfriend, hope you are doing great! 🙂

  12. Every generation will have these stories. 🙂 I did a post on myspace about the town I grew up in. MAybe I’ll copy it over here.

  13. hehehe, pretty cute. Thanks for sharing!

    To me, one of the weirdest things is that kids now all have their own cell phones. What’s up with that? When I was a kid, people couldn’t call after 10 or my dad would get mad. Also, I had to always check to make sure they weren’t listening in! 🙂

    We didn’t make calls after 10:00 either. Now hubby and I try not to call after 9:00. The kids are in bed and we usually are too. I know… we’re pretty lame, but hubby is up at 5:00am for work. ~Accountable

  14. Oh what a GREAT post Accountable. It made me remember, it made me laugh out loud, it made me say “Right on!” it made me want to copy it and make my kids read it every time they whine (I always ask if they want cheese with it). Thanks for all that today, I needed it!

    Feel free to copy and send. I’ll admit, this was an email that my sister sent me! LOL!! ~Accountable

  15. LOL! We had an Odessey, too. The neighbor girl across the street had an Atari. Always begged mom & dad to buy us one since it was so much cooler but it never worked. 😦

    I never knew anyone else who had an Odessey. We had KC Munchin (Pac Man knock-off), Quest for the Rings, a car racing game, baseball, and a spaced invaders of some sort among others. ~Accountable

  16. I loved atari. My favorite was pitfall when that square guy would jump on the heads of alligators. Years later I laughed when Dora jumped on their heads as well.

    Great post!

  17. I’m only 28 but I remember some of that stuff. I had a bad car accident when I was five so must of my memories are gone. We didn’t have cable until I was 11. We had a phone with a cord and I remember how excited my mom was when we got Caller ID. We didn’t have call waiting. I *loved* the Smurfs, He-Man, She-Ra, and Fragal Rock!

    I look at my kids and just remember when I was there age. My girlfriends and I would play outside. My kids don’t go outside and play without me. I was only allowed to use the phone AFTER my homework was done and god help me if I talked for more then 15 minutes because someone MIGHT call. I remember seeing Madonna on tv for the first time an I remember the shuttle blowing up. My kids could care less about space travel. Things have changed.

    Great post. Just think how our children will look back on their past and what they might say to their children!

Leave a Reply

