Music, a series

The other day I was driving and I popped in a tape (Yes, I still listen to those) in my van (Yes my van has a casette tape player and I love it!).  I was expecting to hear American Pie but instead I heard my son giggling and saying dadadadadadadada.  It made me smile.

Soon American Pie came on and I listened to the rest of my tape.  After I got home, I dragged out all my other tapes.  Especially those mix tapes that I made listening ot the radio.  Admit it, you did it too.  Here I’ll post some of those playlists for you to look at.  Some of the titles aren’t exact.  How many of these songs do you remember?

Tape 1: 

  • American Pie
  • Call me Al
  • Born to be Wild
  • Everything I Do
  • So Close
  • Hippy Hippy Shake
  • Friends in Low Places
  • Bohemian Rhapsody
  • Just take my Heart
  • Look Away
  • Foxy Lady
  • To Be With You
  • Heaven in Your Eyes
  • She’s Like the Wind

Tape 2

  • Visions of Love
  • I’ll be Your Everything
  • So Close
  • I Don’t Wanna Fall in Love
  • Heaven a Place on Earth
  • The Way You do the Things you Do
  • I’ll be Your Shelter
  • Poison
  • How am I supposed to Live Without Your Love
  • Love Takes Time
  • It must have been Love
  • Another Day In Paradise
  • Stand By Me
  • Tom’s Diner
  • Butt Crack (a parody of Love Shack)
  • When the Children Cry
  • I’ll be There for You
  • I Miss You
  • Bartman
  • Can’t Touch This
  • Escapade
  • Blaze of Glory
  • Ice, Ice Baby
  • Janey’s got a gun
  • Hold On
  • Do Me

I know that I hear many of these on the radio still (Thanks Bob & R Dub!)

6 Responses

  1. Totally rad! I know almost all of them. Thanks for the trip back in time. 🙂

  2. Great songs! I have a tape deck in my car, too. It was a fantastic bonus–I use it to feed my iPod into the speakers. Much better than those wireless radio things!
    You have a great 70’s/80’s song list!

  3. I miss the tape deck in car. Love most of these songs. Wow, Memories…:)

  4. I love Tape #2!!!

    Just wait until you see me other tapes. It’s hard to have a favorite! ~Accountable

  5. I love tapes. I have my son when he was 3 (now 12) singing twinkle twinkle and once in a while I toss it in at home.

    Did I mention we also use our record player here? Oh, the 8 track is gone, but our records rock.

    For Christmas/Birthday for my Father, we all went in and bought him an Alsto Record/cassette to CD burner. He LOVES it! ~Accountable

  6. HEY! Where’s a little “meatloaf” By the dashboard lights….now THOSE were the days….

    I can sing EVERY word for you (and did several times last week with some new friends I met) and we laughed so hard we cried. We of course thought we were super cool (a bunch of ol foaggies, singin dashboard lights – OMG what a riot!).

    For some reason they didn’t have Meatloaf in their collection. I do have a random tape that I think has Meatloaf on it. “Two out of Three” I think ~Accountable

Leave a Reply

