Bedtime in the Eastern Time zone

It was an interesting three nights.  We live in the Central Time Zone.  We start getting the kids ready for bed about 8:00 and in their bed around 8:30.  As to the time that they actually fall asleep may vary.

For our trip to Ohio, the kids both had naps.  Baby Girl slept for about an hour and a half or so and Little Man for maybe 30 minutes.  Since we are now in the Eastern time zone, everything is adjusted to one hour later.  Neither still wanted to go down at 9:30/8:30 Central.  Finally, they do lay down and are quiet.  As long as I’m still laying with them.  For this trip, they share a room.  They finally fall asleep and I wake up to go to my bed.  Little man wakes up around 5:00? ish and he comes into bed with us for a little while.  He’s quite wiggly, so I bring him back to his bed after a while and, you’ve guessed it, I lay with him and we both fall asleep until 8:00/7:00 CST.

Thursday night is a little better, although they both napped later than usual.  Baby Girl sleeps for about 2 1/2-3 hours and Little Man about an hour.  They do fall asleep with little prodding and coaxing and sleep until 8:00 EST.

Friday night, Little Man wakes up crying at 12:30, so I get him back to bed, and then an hour later he waked up again.  I figure out that he’s cold, so he gets another blanket and sleeps until 8:00ish EST.

Fun, fun, fun!!  The joys of parenting.

One Response

  1. Bedtime Hell was the story of my Thanksgiving weekend as well. My son was feverish and didn’t sleep at all on Friday night. But that made for a quiet Saturday as he napped and got better! He is almost all better now, thank goodness.

    At least we know we are not alone in mothering/parenting bedtime hell.

    I tagged you. If you want to participate in the meme, the rules are on my blog. 🙂 If you don’t want to participate I promise my cyber feelings won’t be hurt.

Leave a Reply

