Of lunch and leaf burning

Today was Baby Girl’s Thanksgiving lunch at her school (daycare).  It consisted of Turkey, boxed potatoes, greenbean casserole, stuffing (cornbread, I believe), rolls, gravy and cranberry jelly.  They also had pumpkin and apple pie.  It was good.  She didn’t eat her turkey or peaches, but the mashed potatoes & greenbeans.  She was taking my greenbeans off of my plate.  Then it was naptime.

On my way back from lunch, I passed by a leafsucking truck.  I got to thinking (couldn’t you see the smoke from this direction?) that they don’t allow leaf burning anymore.  One of the things that we used to do was rake the leafs and burn them.

I grew up in a small town.  My street was an oil and chip road and we had no sidewalk on my street.  One of the things that we did a couple of times every fall was burn the leaves.  Either in the front yard on the street or in the back yard.  Unless you live in the country, you don’t smell the burning of the leaves.  I kind of miss it, but then at the same time, I don’t.

Leave a Reply

